Raspberry Lemon Parfaits

Donkey: You know what ELSE everybody likes? Parfaits! Have you ever met a person, you say, “Let’s get some parfait,” they say, “Hell no, I don’t like no parfait”? Parfaits are delicious!
Shrek: NO! You dense, irritating, miniature beast of burden! Ogres are like onions! End of story! Bye-bye! See ya later.
(slight pause for reflection)  Donkey: Parfait’s gotta be the most delicious thing on the whole damn planet!

That would be from Shrek (obviously), one of my favorite kids’ movies.  I had to add that quote in here because every time I say the word “parfait” in my head, I hear Eddie Murphy’s voice.

Back to the real world… Hey everyone!  Hope you all had a lovely Easter.  We certainly did here.  It was a crazy busy weekend of cooking, cleaning, baking, and making my first “professional” cake.  There are pics up of that on The Decorator’s Corner section of this blog (which, if you’ve never checked out, you should!).

We had lots and lots of yummy food.  The only regret I have this year is that I did not make more because we actually ran out of a couple dishes.  There’s a first for everything I guess.  But all in all it was a great Easter.

These parfaits were on my short list of desserts for Easter.  I ended up doing Mini Lemon Meringue Pies but I couldn’t not make these.  Just too cute!  Can you picture serving these at the end of a spring dinner party?  A birthday party/baby shower/graduation/Mother’s Day???  They’re sweet and light and perfect for this time of year.

And easy.  Did I say easy?  Because they are.  Well, once you have Lemon Curd sitting in your fridge that needs to be used anyway.  These are put together so quickly I did it yesterday morning while the kids were eating their breakfast at the island.

Now, I’m going to preface this by saying that I’ve made “real” fresh lemon mousse many times.  Technically, for it to be a real mousse you need whip up egg whites and fold them in, usually in conjunction with some freshly whipped cream.  I’ve done it that way and had it turn out awesome.

But there is always the concern about salmonella with the raw egg whites.  I won’t serve them to my children or a pregnant woman or anyone with a compromised immune system (all of whom are represented in our family right now).  So recently I tried substituting pasteurized egg whites (which are not good for whipping).  The mousse was turning out too slack.  I then accidentally over-whipped the cream just short of butter and was not being able to fold that in well, ending up with a lemon mousse resembling egg salad.

After that I said, “You know what, we’re just gonna grab the Cool Whip and call it mousse.”

What remains of my Easter centerpiece.  (Thanks Pinterest!)  I’ve been slowly tearing it apart Peep by Peep.

Anyway, here’s everything you need.  Some leftover Lemon Curd, some Cool Whip, Seedless Raspberry Jam, Fresh Raspberries, and Creme de Cassis (not shown).  Alternatively, you could use Chambord.  Creme de Cassis is Black Currant liqueur, Chambord is made from raspberries.  Chambord is a lot more expensive.  I’m sure it’s great, I’ve just never bought it for that reason.  And Creme de Cassis goes wonderfully with raspberries – so use whatever you’ve got!  Or, if you’re not the type to have those kinds of things on hand, you could just sub in a slip of juice (orange or cran-raspberry or something that will go well with raspberry and lemon).

Gently fold equal parts lemon curd and cool whip together.

I only made enough for one large parfait but this recipe very easily doubles/triples/whatever.  The original lemon curd recipe on this site makes about 3 cups so if you just made the lemon curd you could make a ton of parfaits.

Here it is all homogenous and whippy.  Nom.

Next, spoon out some seedless raspberry jam…

…and whisk it until it’s thin and syrupy.

Next, pour in a splash of liqueur.  About 3 parts jam:1 part liqueur.  Just enough to punch up the flavor a bit.

Now, find some pretty glasses.  I used martini glasses but you could use wine glasses (stemmed or stemless), old fashioned punch cups, double shot glasses for cute little Parfait Shooters… whatever!  Spoon in a layer of mousse and flatten out the top.

Next, spoon on a thin layer of the raspberry sauce, making sure you spread it out to the edges of the glass so the layer shows through when you cover it.

Spoon on another layer of mousse and carefully flatten it out to the edges being careful not to mix the layers.

Top with another thin layer of raspberry sauce and some fresh raspberries.  I like odd numbers for garnish.  It just looks better that way.

And there you have it!  Perfect with some shortbread cookies or all by itself with a spoon.  The perfect end to an elegant brunch, dinner, party, shower, or any springtime occasion!

Enjoy!

Raspberry Lemon Parfaits

2 cups Fresh Lemon Curd (or bottled)

2 cups Cool Whip

1/4 cup Seedless Raspberry Jam

4 tsp Creme de Cassis or Chambord (or juice such as OJ)

12 Fresh Raspberries

Instructions:

In a medium size bowl, gently fold cool whip into lemon curd until no streaks remain.

In a small bowl, whisk jam until thin and syrupy.  Mix in liqueur.

In a pretty glass, spoon in a thick layer of lemon mousse and smooth the top.  Cover with a thin layer of raspberry sauce, spreading out to the sides of the glass.  Repeat.

Top with three fresh raspberries.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Makes 4 Parfaits or 12ish Parfait Shooters.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “Raspberry Lemon Parfaits

  1. Pingback: My 1st Blogiversary Top Ten Lists | holdthecroutons

  2. I made these over the weekend and they were fantastic. 🙂 Sometime when I make them I’ll get good pictures and post them on my blog, but if you want you can check out the ones I posted on my instagram – http://www.instagram.com/bonnieberindean 🙂

    I am going to make them for another party next weekend, I think. They are perfect! I also used your lemon curd recipe. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com

  3. Awesome! I’m so glad you liked them! I’m making lemon curd this week as well. Great minds 😉

Leave a Reply

