Gluten Free Pizza Dough (for thicker crust)

Ready for the most monochromatic post ever?

Me neither.  That’s a naked gluten free pizza crust I made the other day.  And it’s awesome.  My husband can’t stop singing it’s praises.  But it looks pretty dull with nothing on it.  So let’s just look and see some of the mouth watering things you can do with this crust instead of being blinded by all it’s whiteness.  There’s this…

or this…

or this…

or this (nom)…

(insert Homer Simpson food noise here)…

getting hungry yet???…

I die now.

You get the point.  This is a blank canvas perfect for carrying any toppings you like.  For the last couple years we had been using the recipe for thin crust pizza dough in Gluten Free Girl‘s cookbook.  There’s a post on here dedicated to it.  It’s a pleasure to work with and produces a good really really thin, crunchy crust.  If that’s what you’re into.  But my husband wanted something more like those beautiful crusts  you see above you.  Something with a little chew to it.  Something poofier.

I experimented for weeks before I was happy with this recipe.  There are probably other similar recipes out there.  But for me, the learning experience is valuable in and of itself so experiment I did.  And I’m glad because it brought me to this.

Here’s what you need – potato starch, sweet rice flour, sorghum flour, xanthan gum, salt, sugar, yeast, olive oil, 1 egg and 1 egg white.

Go grab your scale.  You’ll need to measure out 170 grams of potato starch…

…100 grams sweet rice flour…

…and 230 grams Sorghum Flour.   That’s it for the flour mix.  Could we use the GF flour mix I use for like, everything else???  Probably.  But for “bready” things (as opposed to cakey things) Sorghum is a really great base flour.  It’s probably the closest of the GF flours when it comes to mimicking the texture of wheat breads.   The potato starch keeps it light while the sweet rice flour ties the two together nicely.

Oh, and what’s that weird bowl I have on my scale I hear you asking?  That’s actually the bowl that goes in my bread machine.  You don’t have to use a bread machine to make this dough.  I use this for purely logistical reasons I’ll explain in a minute.

Next, add in 1/2 Tbsp of salt…

…a Tbsp sugar…

… and a Tbsp of Xanthan Gum.

Now whisk up all your dry ingredients so they’re nice and homogenous.   Make a well in the center for our wet ingredients.  (From here on out my pictures are not going to accurately demonstrate how I normally do this.  I was attempting to show you how to make this the normal way, in a bowl with a mixer, not the way I do it, following the bread machine instructions.).

Add 1 1/3 cups warm water.  About the temp of a hot shower.

My “well” didn’t work so well in the bread mixer.  That’s okay.  Next, (and this is not shown because I was obviously not thinking at the time) in a small bowl lightly beat together one egg and one egg white.  Add that to the water in your well.

Lastly, sprinkle 2 1/4 tsp yeast all over the top.  Let it sit a couple minutes and get foamy and happy.

And finally, pour in 1/4 cup olive oil.

This is the point where you’d turn on your mixer and let it go until it’s smooth.  The dough won’t get to the point where it’s not sticky anymore the way a wheat dough would.  You also really can’t over mix it as there is no gluten to overwork.  So no worries!  Just mix it until it’s all together.  As for me, I’m just going to set my machine to “dough” and let it do it’s thing.

This is why I use the bread machine for my gluten free dough.  My Kitchenaid mixer (with the dough hook) is simultaneously being used to make wheat pizza dough.  We ❤ pizza night at our house.  It’s pretty much the only night of the week we don’t have to fight over who’s eating what.

This is my dough after letting it rise in a warm place for about an hour.  (If you are doing this in a regular bowl you’ll want to oil and cover the dough while it rises.)  It will still be soft and sticky.  This will make two large pizza crusts.  I usually just take half, wrap it in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer to use on another day.

So to make your crust, grab a sheet of parchment paper and put a pizza stone in a 450 degree oven to preheat.  Grab half your dough a start spreading  into a large circle.

I work in a circular motion, working the dough thinner and thinner (remember it will rise in the oven!).

Gettin’ there.

There!  That looks good.  Now just slide the parchment paper onto the preheated pizza stone and bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes.

And voila!  Pizza crust that’s ready for anything you want to put on it.  I’ve eaten it recently and it tastes like pizza.  Like the, “if you didn’t tell me it was gluten free I wouldn’t have known” kind of pizza.  YES.

Just about the best compliment a gluten free baker can get!

Enjoy!

Gluten Free Pizza Dough (for thicker crust)

230 grams Sorghum Flour

170 grams Potato Starch

100 grams Sweet Rice Flour

1/2 Tbsp salt

1 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp Xanthan Gum

1 1/3 cups warm water

1 egg and 1 egg white, lightly beaten

2 1/4 tsp yeast

1/4 cup olive oil

Instructions:

In bowl of stand mixer whisk together first six ingredients and make a well in the middle.

Pour water and the beaten eggs into the well and sprinkle yeast on top.  Let the yeast ripen for 5-10 minutes (until it gets foamy).

Pour in the olive oil and mix your dough on low speed until it comes together, maybe 3-4 minutes.

Drizzle a little olive oil over the dough, cover with a dish cloth or paper towel and leave to rise in a warm place.  In the winter I turn my oven on for about 20 seconds, turn it off, and then put my dough in and shut the door.  The few seconds the oven is on is enough to raise the temperature from the normal 65 of my house to around 80.  Perfect for making happy yeast.

Let it rise for at least an hour.  Put a pizza stone in the oven and preheat to 450 degrees.  Remove half the dough from the bowl and spread into a large circle on a sheet of parchment paper until very thin and uniform.  Put parchment paper on the preheated stone and bake for 10 minutes at 450 degrees.

This recipe makes two large crusts.  If not using both immediately, excess dough can be wrapped and placed in refrigerator for a day or can be frozen and used later.  I have no idea how long it will keep.  We always seem to need the freezer dough within a week :p

Makes two one-pound balls of dough

 

1 Comment

Filed under Breads

One response to “Gluten Free Pizza Dough (for thicker crust)

  1. Pingback: My 1st Blogiversary Top Ten Lists | holdthecroutons

Leave a Reply

