Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons

So, I’m not actually a huge coconut fan.  I mean, I like coconut as much as the next person, it’s just not my flavor of choice when it comes to desserts.   Chocolate, vanilla, peanut butter, caramel, coffee, lemon, raspberry… probably a host of others come before it.

But I’m making literally 20 different kinds of cookies and candies right now for Christmas.  In the interest of variety I thought we’d mix it up a bit this week.  (In the last week I’ve made Snickerdoodles, Gingerbread People, Sugar Cookies, Turtles, Buckeyes, Chocolate Chip Biscotti, Chocolate Mint Cookies, Almond Toffee, PB + J Thumbprints, and Magic Cookie Bars.  I’m working on some Vanilla Latte Cookie Truffles right now.  Lemon Bars, White Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal cookies, Raspberry Linzer cookies and Cinnamon Rolls coming up the next few days.  I see a lot of kale in my future.)

Macaroons are great for anyone who:

A. Likes Coconut

B. Likes desserts that look elegant but are actually really quick and easy and

C. Doesn’t have any more flour in her cupboard because of making so many cookies in the last week

Which is not actually me…today.  But it is me many, many times a year.  And Coconut Macaroons are naturally gluten free which makes things easier for all of us.

So let’s get to it, shall we?

Here’s everything you need:  A 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk, a 14oz bag of sweetened shredded coconut (obviously yours will have something in it, oops), 1/4 tsp salt, one teaspoon vanilla, and 3 large egg whites.  That’s the yellowish stuff in the tupperware.  I always have some egg whites sitting around which is weird because I swear I have no recollection of using just yolks in anything.  Anyway…

In a medium bowl, fold together the sweetened condensed milk, the coconut, and the vanilla until well combined.

Whip up your egg whites and salt on high, using a whisk beater if you have one, until you have firm peaks.  (It looks like there is something red on the beaters.  There isn’t.  I have Christmas lights strung up by my mixer.)

Gently fold the egg whites into the coconut…

…until well combined and creamy.

I made mine kinda big.  Yours don’t have to be this big.  I just felt like using my new cookie scoop.

Plop the little piles onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Here they are right out of the oven, the tops nice and toasty brown.  Now, you could leave them like this…

…or you could dip them in dark chocolate for an extra flavor dimension. 

Me gusta mucho el chocolate.

Enjoy!

Coconut Macaroons

1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk

1 14oz bag sweetened shredded coconut

1 tsp vanilla

3 large egg whites

1/4 tsp salt

Dark Chocolate for dipping (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a medium bowl, combine coconut, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla until homogenous.

Combine egg whites and salt and whip on high speed, using the whisk attachment (if you have one) until you achieve firm peaks.

Gently fold egg whites into coconut mixture.

On a parchment paper lined baking sheet, drop batter by tablespoonfuls into little mounds 2 inches apart.  Bake 25-30 minutes.

Allow to cool and dip in dark chocolate if desired.

Leave a comment

Filed under Candy, Cookies/Bars

Leave a Reply

