Turtles

These are so ridiculously simple I wasn’t sure I was even going to post them on here.

But…they’re sooooo yummy I couldn’t NOT share them.

I think technically I maimed my turtles.  Usually these guys are made with five pecans each – four legs and a head.

These only have 3 pecans.  Sorry guys, you only get two legs each.  Recession, you know.  Perhaps we could call them Tadpoles?

This is everything you need right here.  Pecans, caramel bits, and dipping chocolate.  I was soooo happy to find these caramel bits again.  I couldn’t find them when I did caramel apples for my daughter’s Halloween party at school.  You know how long it takes to peel FOUR POUNDS worth of individually wrapped caramels???  I can’t remember how long but I will say my fingers were literally bleeding by the time I was done.

So, simply arrange your pecans on a sheet of wax paper into little clusters.  You can do five pecans if you like.  I’m just cheap.  I think you guys already know that about me.

Next, pour your caramel bits into a bowl and microwave on high for 20 seconds or so.  Stir and repeat until they’re all melted.

Now, because we’re not mixing any cream into the caramel it’s going to be a little bit like putty.  This is good, actually.  The caramel will be hot but not so hot you can’t pull off little bits to mush onto the center of all our clusters, using it like clay to stick them all together.

The caramel cools and starts firming up very quickly once it’s removed from the bowl.

Once all of your caramel pecan clusters have been formed, using two forks you can dip them in the chocolate.  The beauty of dipping chocolate is you just pour it into a bowl and nuke it for 30 seconds.  Stir it around, nuke it some more until it’s all melted.  It’s kind of fool proof which is what I like.

And here they are all dipped!  These are a very chewy caramel treat that goes perfect with coffee or the other five Christmas cookies on your party plate.

Enjoy!

Turtles

1/2 bag Kraft Premium Caramel Bits

About 2 cups Milk Chocolate Dipping Chocolate

90 whole pecans

Instructions:

On a sheet of waxed paper, arrange pecans in clusters of three.

Pour caramel bits in a bowl and microwave 20 seconds.  Stir.  Repeat until totally melted.

When just cool enough to handle, pull off teaspoonfuls of caramel and form over the center of each cluster.

In another bowl, add chocolate and microwave on high for 30 seconds.  Stir and repeat until totally melted.

Using two forks, dip caramel pecan clusters in chocolate.  Place on wax paper to cool and harden.

Note:  If I have any extra chocolate or caramel I always just toss in some small nuts , raisins, marshmallows, pretzels (whatever I have on hand) and roll them around to use up the remainder.  We call the unsightly bundles “Chocolate Trail Mix” and my kids LOVE IT.  This little note may actually secretly be the best part of this post.  Shhhh!

Makes 30 clusters.

Leave a comment

Filed under Candy

Leave a Reply

