Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Don’t these look totally amazing???  You know you want one.  I want one.  Too bad for me, ’cause they’re gone.

I offered these up to my 8 year old daughter and her best friend as they were being made.  The looks on their faces told me this one was a keeper.  And can I just say now thank goodness for pumpkin???  It is literally the only vegetable my daughter will willingly eat.  No wonder since it’s always paired with sugar.  But that’s okay.  A vegetable it still is.

I like them so much I think they may make the cut for Thanksgiving.  I know.  Thanksgiving already?!?  Where has the time gone???  Usually I take weeks to plan the menu and figure out the logistics of seating 23 people in my smallish kitchen/living room/dining room space.  Suddenly it’s, holy cow, it’s the 8th and there’s just a little over two weeks until the big day.  And yes, I did just scroll over the time on my monitor to check what day it is.  I live in a bubble.

So over the next couple weeks it is likely you will be seeing a few test recipes before we hit the actual holiday.  Yay!  LOVE Thanksgiving.  I mean, I think when asked why we like certain holidays the first thing that comes to mind is the food.  And Thanksgiving is the only holiday explicitly dedicated to the food!  And being thankful and our cultural heritage and all that.

Where was I?  Oh yeah, Pumpkin Whoopie Pies.  Southeastern PA, this one’s for you.

 

First let’s mix our dry ingredients.  Here we have 210 grams of my All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Mix (or you can use 1 1/2 cups regular flour), 1 tsp Xanthan Gum (only if you’re using GF flour), 1/2 tsp EACH salt, baking powder, and baking soda, 2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, and an 1/8 tsp ground cloves.   Whisk those all together.

As for our wet ingredients, in another bowl we have one egg, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 3/4 cup pure pumpkin (not Pumpkin Pie Mix), 1 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract.  Mix that all up as well.  Pour the contents of the smaller bowl into the bigger one and mix until well combined.

Drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto a baking sheet and pop into your preheated 350 degree oven.  I used parchment paper.  Obviously.  Makes the whole process run quicker and easier.

Can you tell spatial reasoning is not my strong suit?  Here’s the first batch of…seven.  You’ll get about 28 depending how “heaping” your tablespoons are.

The filling is super easy and it’s probably already in your house waiting to be made.  It’s just 3 oz cream cheese, softened, mixed with 3/4 cup marshmallow fluff.  That’s it.  I nuked mine just a little to get it to come together easily.  I have a “soften cream cheese” setting on my microwave.  I know, I’m spoiled.  Spread some of that loveliness on the bottom of one cookie nice and thick…

Put another soft, fragrant cookie on top and voila!  You have your Whoopie Pie.  Pillowy, sweet, wholesome (haha), portable delights.  So yummy and easy.

Enjoy!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies (adapted from allrecipes)

1 egg, slightly beaten

3/4 cup Pure Pumpkin (not Pumpkin Pie Mix)

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

210 grams All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Mix (or 1 1/2 cups regular flour)

1 tsp Xanthan Gum (only if using GF flour mix)

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/8 tsp ground cloves

For Filling:

3 oz cream cheese (I used light)

3/4 cup Marshmallow Fluff

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl combine flour mix, xanthan gum (if using), baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.

In a medium bowl combine egg, pumpkin, oil, sugar, and vanilla.  Add to dry ingredients and mix until smooth.

Drop dough (it will be thin) by heaping tablespoonfuls onto parchment paper leaving room for the cookies to spread.

Bake 10-12 minutes.

Allow cookies to cool on racks.

Meanwhile, make filling.  Combine softened cream cheese and marshmallow fluff until smooth.

Spread on the bottom of one cookie and top with another to form a sandwich.

I’ve heard these can be frozen for three days.  Haven’t tried it yet.

Makes about 14 Whoopie Pies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies/Bars

Leave a Reply

