Balsamic Steak Gorgonzola Pizza

Okay, I’ll be the first to admit this is one odd looking pizza.  Bear with me.

I’m starting to think if I ever get myself published in the way way distant future, it will be writing a pizza cookbook.  Just pizzas.  I have soooo many ideas.  Every week I am inspired with new ideas for specialty pizzas.  Not that probably all of them haven’t been done somewhere before…we are a pizza loving country after all.  But still…

This week’s pizza was inspired by my most favorite Olive Garden dish of all time – The Steak Gorgonzola Alfredo.  It’s fettuccine with Gorgonzola-laced Alfredo sauce, medium rare steak medallions, sun dried tomatoes, more crumbled Gorgonzola, finished with a drizzle of Balsamic Glaze.

(Insert Homer Simpson yummy food noise.  Haaaaauuuuuuuggghhh.)

We used to go to the Olive Garden fairly regularly years ago.  You know, before we had kids.  They actually have gluten free pasta options now so yay for the OG!  We would totally go more often if we ever went out to eat at all.  I’ve always loved it there… the breadsticks, the soups, the salad.  I’m not actually a huge pasta fan but there’s something there for everyone .

So anyway, if you know me you know I rarely order the same entree twice.  There is just so much gustatory wonderfulness to experience out there.  I am always  eager to try something new…except when it comes to the Olive Garden and this dish.  I have probably ordered it half a dozen times.  It’s just that good.

So why not make it into a pizza?  No reason – let’s go!

Let’s start out by rolling out our prepared dough on a sheet of parchment paper.  You can make it from scratch.  Or you can do it this way if you’re doing this GF.  Or you can pick up a ball of dough from the deli.  S’all good.

Onto our dough we are going to add this stuff – some of which I realize is not recognizable to anyone but me.  We’ve got half a sirloin steak, cooked medium rare (you do yours to your liking of course), garlic oil, Balsamic Glaze, some thinly sliced red onion, a wedge of Gorgonzola, a tub of pizza cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes.  (You can totally disregard that pumpkin which will probably be in the background of all my shots for the next two months.)

You still have garlic oil left over from the last time we made it, right???  I didn’t either.  But I was dying to make more so I did.  Just put 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes, and 4 sliced cloves of garlic over low heat until it’s bubbling.  Leave it bubbling for 10 minutes and set it aside to cool.

We’re gonna take about a quarter cup of that luxurious garlic oil and spread it all over our rolled/patted/stretched out dough.  Why not just use Alfredo sauce for the base?  Eh, because I didn’t want to.  Is that a good enough reason?

Next we’re gonna throw on some sun-dried tomatoes.  We’re putting them underneath everything else so as not to dry them out further in the oven.  Some of these I bought at the store.  Some I made myself from the 10 billion tomatoes I had in my garden over the summer.  Mine were way better.  Just sayin’.

On top of that we’re going to add 6 oz pizza cheese and the red onions.  You can use the whole 8 oz tub if you want.  I’m just a little neurotic about the “no more than 8 total ounces of cheese on my pizza” thing.  Now let’s slide our pizza onto a hot pizza stone/pan in our 450 degree pre-heated oven.

While the pizza is baking we’re going to slice our steak up as thinly as we can.  Just LOOK at that beautiful medium-rare goodness.  If we threw that in a super hot oven for 12 minutes our steak would turn into leather.  So we’re going to throw it on at the end.

Here is our pizza straight out of the oven!  But wait,  don’t turn off your oven just yet!  Now we’re gonna throw on the steak and the Gorgonzola.

Back into the oven for another 60 seconds.  No longer!  We just want our steak warmed, not further cooked.  Drizzle with the balsamic glaze to finish.  (I made my own glaze by reducing a whole bottle of balsamic vinegar on the stove down to half a cup.  You can also just buy a bottle of glaze at the store.  That’s what I’ve done for years.)

So many wonderful elements in this pizza.  The garlic and the balsamic, the Gorgonzola and the dried tomatoes.  And the STEAK.  Nom nom nom.  This pizza is a flavor powerhouse.

Enjoy!

Balsamic Steak Gorgonzola Pizza

1 lb ball prepared pizza dough (GF recipe here)

8 oz Sirlion Steak, cooked to your preferred doneness and sliced thinly

6 oz shredded pizza cheese (mozzarella/provolone)

1/3 cup red onion, thinly sliced

1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes

2 oz Gorgonzola Cheese, crumbled

1 Tbsp Balsamic Glaze

Garlic Oil

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

Instructions:

Prepare your pizza dough as directed (bringing to room temp first if it was in the fridge).

Make your garlic oil.  In a small saucepan, heat olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes over low heat until boiling.  Allow to simmer for 10 minutes.  Set aside until ready to use.

Place a pizza stone on the bottom rack of the oven and preheat oven to 450 degrees.  If using a non-stick pizza pan do the same thing but put it in upside down.  I don’t know why exactly but I’ve read that advice a million times.

On a sheet of parchment paper stretch or roll out your pizza dough to about 1/4″ thickness.  (Roughly the diameter of a large commercially baked pizza, about 12-14 inches across.)  If you’re using gluten free pizza dough you may want to go a little thicker as it does not rise nearly as much in the oven as a wheat-based dough will.

Spread garlic oil on dough, leaving a rim for the crust.

Top with pizza cheese, onions, and sun-dried tomatoes.

Carefully slide pizza onto your hot pizza stone, parchment paper and all (or onto your non-stick pan making sure you turn it right side up first).  Bake 12 minutes.

Remove pizza from oven and top with steak and Gorgonzola.  Put back in oven for 1 minute.

Drizzle with Balsamic glaze and serve.

Serves 8.

6 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

6 responses to “Balsamic Steak Gorgonzola Pizza

  1. Joelle

    My husband loves the Steak Gorgonzola Alfredo at Olive Garden Restaurant. Since our family became Gluten Free he hasn’t been ablate to enjoy it. When I found your pizza, I knew I had to try it. A couple times a month I make homemade pizza. Last night was that night. I made a smaller version of your pizza, as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. My husband is very picky and I was afraid the flavor might be too much for him. I was wrong! After his first bite, he said “It does taste like the Steak Gorgonzola Alfredo.” Success!!!! He loved it.

    Now I am sad that I didn’t make a bigger one. He ended up taking the left overs to work today and I only got 2 pieces. I have a family blog and would love to share your pizza. I will be sure to link to your blog and give you all the credit. You deserve it. This was great!!

  2. Pingback: Pizza…. Oh it’s so good! «

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Pizza Dough (for thicker crust) | holdthecroutons

  4. Pingback: My 1st Blogiversary Top Ten Lists | holdthecroutons

  5. Pingback: Sun (oven) Dried Tomatoes | holdthecroutons

Leave a Reply

