Guacamole

Hey everyone!  See that wooden serving bowl there?  I bought that at a yard sale a couple summers ago for 50 cents.  And I’ve never used it.  Not once.  Not before today anyway.  Isn’t it cute?  Just perfect for showcasing our freshly made guacamole and tortilla chips.  And it also makes this picture oddly resemble the Lebanese flag.  Hmm.

Guess someone likes trees

I can’t tell you how much I love freshly made guacamole.  And it’s actually good for you, all those heart healthy, good cholesterol promoting fats and all.  When I was pregnant I used to make a whole recipe of it and eat it for dinner.  With a spoon.

“No, Doctor OBGYN, I don’t know why I’m gaining so much weight.  I eat a really healthy diet.”  (For four people anyway.)

So let’s get started shall we?

All you need is two ripe avocados, a handful of fresh cilantro, a red onion (you don’t even need a whole one), Tabasco sauce, salt, and lime juice.  Pay no attention to all the junk in the background.  I actually live in a house, not a photo studio.

Don’t mind me, I just had to show you a picture of the inside of my avocados because they were so beautiful.  These are actually not quite as ripe as I like them for guacamole though.  You want them soft but not turning brown inside yet.  The day after they turn black is probably the best day.  We’re going to dice them up rather large for some chunky guacamole.  No food processor this time.  Pureed guac makes me want to hurl.

Yay!  I love it when vegetables dice themselves!  Thanks guys!  Tell your onions to dice themselves pretty small.  I’ve learned from experience people don’t generally like biting into huge chunks of red onion.  To our avocados, cilantro, and onion I’m going to add four dashes of the Tabasco, a three-fingered pinch of kosher salt, and 1/2 Tbsp of lime juice.  I measure that because if I don’t I consistently use too much.

Here I have put all our ingredients in a bowl to be mixed.  Spatial reasoning is not my strong suit if you couldn’t tell before.

Here it all is, mixed (and just a little mashed), in a bowl big enough to mix it in.  I ❤ washing dishes.

Correct

Incorrect

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, just real quickly here – if you have any leftover after your party or dinner – when you go to put it away you have two options.  You can cover it with plastic wrap like you do with everything or you can mush the plastic wrap down onto the guac, pressing out any air bubbles.  I’ll let you decide which method lasts longer before it turns brown.

And there we have it!  Enough guacamole to feed the party…or yourself if you are pregnant and consider this a suitable dinner….

On that note – enjoy!

 

 

Guacamole

2 Ripe Avocados, large diced

1/2 cup Red Onion, diced finely

1 handful Fresh Cilantro, chopped

1/2 Tbsp Lime Juice

4 dashes Tabasco Sauce

a three-fingered pinch of Kosher Salt (about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp)

 

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Serve with tortilla chips or alongside anything you want.  I love mine on burgers, omelets, and with all Mexican food, of course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sauces, Condiments, Dips etc.

Leave a Reply

