Double Chocolate Cupcakes with “Fluffy” Whipped Cream

I think I’m on a chocolate kick.

I realize it’s been like a week since I’ve last updated on here.  It’s been a crazy couple weeks of trying to overhaul our entire upstairs.  Getting close to finishing up phase one.  And it’s not that I haven’t been cooking.  Far from it.  I just haven’t been taking pictures at the same time.  I did, however, peruse a Food Photography book at Barnes and Noble for like 15 minutes last night while waiting to get my eight year old from gymnastics.  I flipped through it and got overwhelmed with the vast oceans of photographic/technology knowledge I am lacking and put it back on the shelf.

Baby steps.

Anyway.  So the chocolate… We’ve had a glorious summer of fresh, local fruits and vegetables – and we’ve loved and devoured every second of it.  But, if you know me, you know I always say “If it’s not chocolate – it doesn’t count as dessert.”  It’s like my brain had forgotten and has now finally remembered my most favorite food.  Like an old friend, her high school note to me buried under boxes of junk in a closet that hasn’t been touched in years.  Okay, not the best analogy but it gives you a little snapshot of my week of cleaning/re-organizing/updating/generally trashing our upstairs.

These cupcakes I actually made last weekend and intended to show you guys days ago and just never got around to writing about.  They are nicely balanced Devils Food cupcakes with ganache filling and “Fluffy” Whipped Cream on top.  I’m not a huge fan of buttercream frostings (I know, shocking), so these were just perfect.  The cupcake recipe comes straight out of my old Better Homes and Gardens generic cover-everything cookbook (adapted to be gluten free).  The ganache is basic ganache like we made last week for the Salted Caramel Squares, and the Whipped Cream topping is from Bobby Flay’s Burgers, Fries, and Shakes cookbook I got a couple Christmas’s ago.  It uses Marshmallow Fluff to give the whipped cream a mouse-like consistency.  Yummy.

You can use the Devil’s Food cupcake recipe I’ve given below or you can use your own, or a box mix.  Whatever floats your boat.  I’m gonna give you guys lots of credit and assume you know how to mix up and bake cupcakes.    Or I might just be using that as an excuse for the lack of pictures pre-baked stage.  In any case – here is one of my purdy little cupcakes.  That’s me taking my vegetable peeler and coring them.  You can save the cores if you want.  Maybe make some cake pops later if you’re feeling ambitious.  Or if you’re like me you can just eat them.  All.

Here is my leftover ganache from earlier in the week.  Nom.

Now grab your baby spoon the hospital gave you and fill the holes with ganache.

Here we have our Fluffy Whipped Cream, beaten with the whisk attachment to stiff peaks.

You can cover your cupcakes however you like but I quickly piped the whipped cream on using a #12 round tip.

And then dusted them with cocoa powder.  Beautiful!

I love it when there’s a surprise in the middle!  Uh oh.  Someone heard mommy say chocolate.  I’m pretty sure that food photography book would advise moving the baby bouncy seat before taking the shot.  Oh well.

“Yes baby.  Go ahead.  But don’t tell your brother I let you eat it before dinner.”

It pays to be in the right place at the right time 🙂

Enjoy!

Double Chocolate Cupcakes with Fluffy Whipped Cream

Cupcake (adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook)

300 g All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Blend (if using regular AP wheat flour this works out to 2 1/4 cups)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 3/4 cups sugar

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

1 1/3 cups water

Basic Ganache

4 oz (1/2 cup) Heavy Cream

4 oz Chocolate Chips

Fluffy Whipped Cream (from Bobby Flay’s Burgers, Fries, and Shakes)

2 cups Heavy Cream

2 Tbsp Sugar

1/2 cup Marshmallow Fluff

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 muffin/cupcake tins with foil or paper baking cups.   I actually had enough batter to make 27 cupcakes.  I must have erred on the small side.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine flour (whatever kind you’re using), cocoa, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl (or the bowl of your stand mixer), mix eggs with sugar until light and creamy looking.  Add oil, vanilla, and water.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet.  Mix until well combined and smooth.

Pour into baking cup lined cupcake tins.

Bake 20-25 minutes.

Allow to cool.

While cupcakes are cooling make your ganache and whipped cream.

For ganache, put chocolate chips in a bowl and set aside.  Pour a half cup of heavy cream into a microwave-safe vessel (I just use a coffee cup), and nuke until boiling.  Pour hot cream over chocolate and allow to sit five minutes.  Stir until combined.

For whipped cream, in a stand mixer using the whisk attachment, combine cream, sugar, fluff, and vanilla on low speed until combined and still thin.  If you start out on high speed you will have cream flying around your kitchen.  Turn up to high speed and whip until stiff peaks form when the whisk is raised up.  This can also be done with a hand mixer.

To assemble, core a small hole out of the middle of each cooled cupcake.  Fill the hole with ganache.  Top with whipped cream either by spreading or piping.  If you’re a fan of piping, use a #12 round tip.  I haven’t tried but I suspect this whipped cream would not hold the pretty ridges of a star tip.

Dust with cocoa if you’re feeling extra domestic and fancy.

Makes 24 cupcakes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

