Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

 

Hey guys!  Today I am passing along to you a Paula Deen recipe that I have adapted to be gluten free.  If you are a fan of Food Network like I am you know if it’s Paula Deen – it’s GOT to be good.  She does the BEST comfort food.  And this cake is no exception.  It is so yummy, so moist, and so Fall.  Aren’t we all starting to think pumpkin right about now?  I know I am.  Oh, and it was so easy to make gluten free which is a big plus for me and my household.

Paula calls them “Pumpkin Bars”.  I say they are too tall and cakey to count as bars but whatever.  We liked this so much we ate the entire pan in one day.  So I made another the following day.  And then we devoured that by the next day.  No joke.  This stuff is addictive man.

I don’t have a million step-by-step pictures for you but I’ll do ya one better.  Here’s a Food Network video that demonstrates the whole process, start to finish.  My version is gluten free – and just as yummy.  You’ll also notice in the recipe below I made a couple of other changes.  I reduced the sugar and eliminated the cinnamon from Paula’s version because I used Pumpkin Pie Mix instead of straight pumpkin.  For some reason I can’t seem to get regular canned pumpkin at the store right now.  C’est la vie.

So anyway – super super simple.  Go get a can of Pumpkin Pie Mix and make some today.

 

Pumpkin Cake

4 Eggs

1 1/2 cups Sugar

1 cup Vegetable Oil

15 oz (1/2 of a large can) Pumpkin Pie Mix

280 grams/10 oz All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Mix (or 2 cups regular flour)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Baking Soda

 

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 8oz package Cream Cheese, softened

1 stick Butter, softened

2 cups Powdered Sugar, sifted

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

 

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9″x13″ pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl whisk together eggs, sugar, oil, and Pumpkin Pie Mix.

In a separate bowl (or just carefully on top of the wet ingredients like I do) whisk together dry ingredients – your flour of choice, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, and Salt.

Combine wet and dry ingredients until totally blended and smooth.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes.

While cake is baking, using an electric mixer/stand mixer/a whisk and some bicep action, whip your softened cream cheese and butter together until lump free and smooth.  Slowly add in powdered sugar, mixing until fully incorporated.  Mix in vanilla.

Allow cake to cool completely before frosting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

