Buffalo Chicken Pizza

So, if you didn’t already get the memo…we eat a lot of pizza around here.  And I see nothing wrong with this.  A pizza crust is a blank, wonderful canvas on which you can put pretty much anything you want.  I love turning my favorite foods into specialty pizzas.  And this is one of the all time greats right here.

Given that I’ve lived in Northwest Pennsylvania for the last 17 years I’m not sure how prevalent Buffalo Chicken recipes are outside this region.  (Someone send me money so I can do some foodie traveling.  Thank you in advance.)  I mean, I know probably everyone in the Western Hemisphere has had Buffalo Wings.  And I’d be willing to bet everyone reading this has also had a boneless fried chicken breast smothered in some kind of spicy sauce and slapped in a bun and labeled “Buffalo” somethingorother.  But the innumerable permutations of the Frank’s Red Hot + Chicken + Blue Cheese + Celery equation?  I’m honestly not sure how common they are outside this area of the country.  (Again – anyone up for a foodie vacation???)

Around here you can find “Buffalo Chicken” pretty much everything.  Dips, sandwiches, omelets, salads, soups, pizzas, milkshakes.  Okay, maybe not milkshakes.  But the point is, being situated close to Buffalo, I suspect we have higher than average restaurant offerings of this sort.

And I, for one, am ecstatic about that.  I loves me my Red Hot.  On pretty much everything.  I eat so much of it I apparently rubbed off on my two year old twins who like to dip their food straight into it.

Yeah.

I freakin' love their advertising.

There are lots of recipes for Buffalo Chicken Pizza.  This is the way I do mine and I ❤ it very much.  And, like any good pizza recipe should be, it’s super simple.  For the gluten-eating people in my house I use this basic pizza dough recipe.  For my husband and any other Celiac family members that may be visiting I make this one.  Same method for each, I just do them back to back in my stand mixer – GF first to avoid cross contamination.

Here’s what you need for the rest of it.  In place of the traditional pizza sauce I use Blue Cheese Dressing.  On top of that go the cheeses, chicken, red onions, and celery.  I use four cheeses – Mozzarella, Cheddar, Monterrey Jack, and Gorgonzola, alternating them with the other stuff so it holds everything together nicely.  I hate when toppings fall off the pizza when you go to eat it.  Pet peeve.

So anyway, my formula is:

Blue Cheese Dressing (making sure it’s GF first if that concerns you – not all are)

Shredded Mozzarella

Diced Chicken Breast tossed with just enough Red Hot to coat

Shredded Cheddar

Diced Red Onions

Shredded Monterrey Jack

Diced Celery

Crumbled Gorgonzola (again, making sure it’s GF if you need it to be)

More Red Hot drizzled on top

Right out of the oven. Mmm.

I’ve been having this pizza for breakfast all week.  Higher calorie count than I normally like in the morning but sooo good.   And filled with healthy protein so I’m cool with that.

If you like things really hot, you can always make some Hot Ranch to go alongside it for dipping.  Ranch Dressing + Red Hot = Hot Ranch.  Proportions are to your spiciness preference .  A local beach side eatery in our town has this in their condiment bar and I always grab several little cupfuls for dipping and putting on burgers and whatnot.  Yummy.

Enjoy!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza

1 one pound ball regular pizza dough or gluten free pizza dough

1/3 cup Blue Cheese Dressing (making sure it’s GF first if that concerns you – not all are)

4 oz Shredded Mozzarella

4 oz Shredded Cheddar

4 oz Shredded Monterrey Jack

2 oz Crumbled Gorgonzola (again, making sure it’s GF if you need it to be)

1 Chicken Breast, cooked, diced, and tossed with Frank’s Red Hot

1/3 cup Diced Red Onions

1/4 cup Diced Celery

More Red Hot drizzled on top to taste

Put pizza stone on bottom rack of your oven and preheat to 450 degrees.  If you don’t have a pizza stone and are using a non-stick pizza pan, put it in upside down while preheating.  (Why that matters I still don’t know)  Preheating the cooking surface ensures your dough gets fully baked without your toppings getting burned.

Roll out pizza dough to large pizza size (about 12-16″ diameter) on a large sheet of parchment paper.  Remember – smaller pizza = thicker crust.  And vice versa.

Top dough with dressing, cheeses, chicken, onions, celery, and Red Hot.

Slide pizza (parchment paper and all) onto hot pizza stone or pan (turned right-side up).

Bake 12 minutes.

Makes one large pizza.

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

2 responses to “Buffalo Chicken Pizza

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Pizza Dough (for thicker crust) | holdthecroutons

  2. Pingback: My 1st Blogiversary Top Ten Lists | holdthecroutons

Leave a Reply

